Young Hustle’s team is full of talent, and their debut tape proves it

Screen Shot 2018-01-27 at 3.06.06 PM

Yesterday Young Hustle, the rap collective out of Minneapolis released their first full-length project together, a ten-track album titled Steezotapez. B-Cool, DAVA, IMJUSKEEM, Pookie, Zelly, Starrx2, and Swaggyki offer a variety of sounds, flows and styles, and Steezotapez is filled with high production value and some impressivly catchy records.

Minneapolis rap has historically been led by the sounds of Rhymsayers, the historic independant label that has always focused on creative bars and woke lyrics and never really cared about making commercial radio music. In 2018 the new age of Minneapolis sound is led by the youth making catchy records filled with hustle, pain, and love. Steezotapez touches on each of these in a mature sounding, industry ready product. Production credits on the album go to Mpressive BeatsManiac, Djdub ProductionsQuasar, and Scottie Flames.

This isn’t one of those collective projects where every song has 5 artists on it. The track listing is seamless and each song sticks out on its own. They all jumped in the studio recorded a bunch of songs and picked the best ones, Steezotapez shows off the best of what Young Hustle has to offer. This is their intro to the world, and with solo projects coming from all of them we might be looking at the future of Minneapolis’ sound. Get familiar below.

Screen Shot 2017-12-29 at 3.15.13 PM

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s